How to Share Your Location With a Dead Battery

One of the worst things that can happen to a mobile user is to run out of battery. Maybe you were so busy the night before and you just forgot. You tried to charge your phone a little in the morning, but it was just not enough.

Now, on your way home from work, you pray that your car won’t give you a hard time. If it breaks down or you get a flat, how are you going to call for help? There is an app called Trusted Contacts that will help you share your location even if you run out of battery.


How to Share Your Location When The Battery Has Died

Trusted Contacts is an app you can download from Google Play that will help you give out your location is even if your phone is off. It’s a great app to have in case of an emergency since you might not be able to let everyone know where you are.

If someone asks for your location and you don’t answer within five minutes, the app is going to give it out automatically. You might be in a situation where you can’t take your phone out, but want to share your location. You can always deny the location request too.

How to Use Trusted Contacts by Google

When you install the app, it’s going to give you a brief introduction to it, explaining a few things. Once it’s done with the intro, you need to add the contacts you want to share your location with. The app also lets you ask for a contact’s position as well. It’s not fair that they only get to ask and not you, right?

How can the app share our location if your phone is dead?

Since the app is tied to your Google location history, there is no need for your phone to be on. Trusted Contacts can also let others know what your battery level is too, so I’m afraid you can’t use the dead battery excuse to blow someone off.


They can also see how recently you were active, something that many users might not be too happy with since it might be considered an invasion of privacy. If you want to give out your location even though no one has asked for it, you can do that too. When you open the app, you’re going to see a red circle with a location icon in it. To share your location just tap on it. You will see two options.¬†You can either choose to share your location with selected contacts, or you can share with the ones you’ve already chosen.

What You can Do After You’ve Shared Your Location

How to Give Your Location with a Dead Phone

When you share your location, you will see a map of where you are and other options as well. You can either share a link using other apps you’ve installed on your phone, share your location with other contacts and Post an Update. The Post an Update option lets you post a message telling all your contacts that you’re OK.

This is also a great way of letting everyone know why you’re not heading home. Maybe you forgot to buy the milk and need to change your usual route home. Your Contacts will only be able to see your location for 24 hours. So, if you need them to know where you are at all times, you will need to repeat te sharing process.

Conclusion

Trusted Contacts by Google is a great app to have on your phone just in case. It doesn’t take up too much space and you never know when you’re going to need it. Do you think it’s an app worth installing? Let me know in the comments.




How good is this article?..

1 Bad2 Meh!3 Alright4 Good5 EXCELENT! (1 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)
Loading...

Leave a Reply